It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
All eLibrary BMJ resources can be accessed via one link at: https://www.bmj.com/company/hse/
BMJ Best Practice provides healthcare professionals with quick, easy access to the latest information and evidence for diagnosis and treatment decisions. Its content is updated daily and draws on the latest evidence-based research, guidelines and expert opinion to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.
Access is automatically enabled via the national IP in the Republic of Ireland. BMJ Best Practice can also be accessed anytime via the mobile responsive website or the app.
CINAHL Complete provides access to a comprehensive range of content covering over 50 nursing specialties as well as allied health subjects including speech and language pathology, nutrition, physical therapy and much more.
ClinicalKey supports healthcare professionals and students with the latest evidence across specialties in a variety of formats, including full-text reference books and journals, point-of-care monographs, drug information, videos, practice guidelines, customized patient education handouts, clinical calculators and more.
Ireland's central source for Open Access health research
Lenus, the Irish Health Research repository is the leading source for Irish research in health and social care. The Lenus collections include peer reviewed journal articles, grey literature, dissertations, reports and conference presentations. Lenus contains the publications of the Irish Health Service Executive (HSE) and the collected research output of over 130 health organisations past and present are all freely accessible.
Submit Your Research to Lenus
If you are an Irish researcher or have conducted research in an Irish institution or health organisation, you can add your published research to Lenus. Submitted articles must be available in Open Access format or the publisher's policy must permit author self archiving. Advice on Open Access publishing and publishers' policies is available on the 'Open Access Publishing Guide' and 'Publishers' policies' pages available on the left-hand menu.
MedicinesComplete, from the Royal Pharmaceutical Society, is the definitive online resource for drug and healthcare information. It provides unbiased knowledge to make the best clinical decisions on the use and administration of drugs and medicines.
The HSE Library subscription includes:
BNF for Children
Clarity's Diagnosis and Treatment Guidance
Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation
Handbook of Drug Administration via Enteral Feeding Tubes
Injectable Drugs Guide
Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference
Palliative Care Formulary
Stockley's Drug Interactions
The HSE Library has an extensive collection of over 7700 available ebooks on the LibCentral platform. Titles can also be requested for purchase. Full details and a guide to using the book request function are available here https://hse.drsteevenslibrary.ie/c.php?g=663148&p=4689271
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides access to hundreds of full-text journals and offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection can be searched independently, but also allows users from subscribing institutions to link to full text from citations within APA PsycInfo. These citations, when viewed via EBSCOhost, have the ability to link to articles from hundreds of full-text journals contained in this database.
Emotional and behavioral characteristics
Observational and experimental methods
Psychiatry and psychology
Access to 382 journals, encompassing over 481,000 articles
Over 50% of the package content is ranked in the Journal Citation Reports (Source: Clarivate, 2020)*
Complimentary access back to 1999, where available.
Use 'Search eLibrary' to search across all the library databases and journals in one search.
Search here to search across all the library's subscription and open access materials. The content searched includes online and physical items, in the following formats:
When you’re treating a patient, you want to make decisions based on the best available evidence and expertise. But even the most experienced clinicians need support in keeping up with new research and advances in care. Staff at all HSE sites have access to Up To Date,
UpToDate authors and editors synthesize the available clinical evidence and best clinical practices to help you provide high quality care to your patients and high standards of research.
They follow a systematic and transparent editorial policy for identifying, reviewing and synthesizing clinical evidence as it applies to a clinical question.
To create and update the clinical topics in UpToDate, our editorial staff performs comprehensive reviews of the medical literature and considers the quality of the study, the hierarchy of evidence, and its clinical relevance.
At the top of the evidence hierarchy are meta-analyses or randomized trials of high methodological quality, followed by randomized trials with methodological limitations, then observational studies and unsystematic clinical observations (expert consensus or opinions). Inferences are stronger when the evidence is summarized in systematic reviews that present all relevant data.
emc contains regulated and approved information on medicines available in the UK
Summaries of Product Characteristics (known as SPCs or SmPCs)
Patient Information Leaflets (known as PILs, Package Leaflets or PLs)
Risk Minimisation Materials (RMMs)
Letters to healthcare professionals
Summaries of Product Characteristics
An SmPC tells healthcare professionals, such as doctors, pharmacists and nurses, how to prescribe and use a medicine correctly. An SmPC is based on clinical trials that a pharmaceutical company has carried out, and gives information about dose, use and possible side effects. An SmPC is always written in a standard format, which is explained in our glossary.
Patient Information Leaflets
A PIL is the leaflet that is included in the pack with a medicine. The PIL is a summary of the SmPC and is written for patients. Our glossary section explains more.
Risk Minimisation Materials
Risk Minimisation Materials are part of a suite of measures that aim to optimise the safe and effective use of a medicine. See the glossary for more information.
Letters to HCPs
Letters to HCPs are direct communications to healthcare professionals to aid education and risk management. Their aim is to ensure the safe and effective use of a marketed medicine.
Live chat functionality is provided by the marketing authorisation holder, or manufacturer of a medicine, for healthcare professionals, and sometimes patients, to contact the company’s Medical Information department with questions about their medicines.
Audio and video content provides additional information in a user friendly way to promote the safe and effective use of a medicine. They may demonstrate how to administer a medicine or improve the accessibility of the information, such as for the blind or visually impaired.
Safety alerts are issued by the Regulator and/or marketing authorisation holder and contain important public health messages or safety critical information about a medicine.
This is additional information about a product. It may include important information such as about a change of ownership of the medicine, package related information or stock issues.
This database collection includes; Consumer Health Database information, Health & Medical Collection information, Healthcare Administration Database, Nursing & Allied Health Database information, Psychology Database and Public Health Database information.