Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library FAQs and Virtual Desk
Have a question about our Library services or resources?
While HSE Library emails are temporarily unavailable, use our Virtual Desk to contact Library staff
All HSE staff can still access Library resources, including drug information resources, UpToDate and other resources to support clinical practice, from personal devices using your OpenAthens login on our homepage
Check out our Library FAQs or contact Library staff using the Virtual Desk.
Request an Evidence Search
We provide a service for HSE staff to request a literature search for patient care, research and policy development purposes.
Submit a Research Request
A customised Covid-19 evidence search is also available
Submit a COVID-19 Evidence Request
Please note that this service is not provided for academic course work, but Library staff provide training on literature searching and the use of Library resources.
Visit our Training page to learn more about how to access this service or contact your local Library for further information.
HSE Library resources to support clinical practice and professional development
Accessing HSE Library Electronic Resources
Register for 24/7 access to our electronic resources using an OpenAthens account
An OpenAthens account facilitates your access to our electronic resources (e-books, databases, e-journals, tools etc.) both on and off the HSE network. A valid email address and your HSE employee number is required for registration.
You can access the electronic resources listed on our homepage using your OpenAthens username and password.
If you have moved to a new Hospital and need to move your OpenAthens account to your new place of work contact our Virtual Desk.
Access our Help and Guides to learn more about how to use our resource and register for a Training Session to learn more.
Overview of our Library Electronic Resources
As COVID-19 restrictions ease our local library sites are opening up, though some continue to operate limited hours.
Contact your local Library to learn more about the services and resources we provide.
Visit our Virtual Desk for help and support.
New Resource Spotlight
We are continuously working to provide our users with a wide range of print and electronic resources to meet their needs.
A recent addition to our collection is Health Research Premium Collection (Proquest)
This collection is accessible electronically using an OpenAthens account. It features the following databases:
- Consumer Health Database - indexing over 500 publications
- Health and Medical Collection - indexing over 4,000 clinical and biomedical publications
- Healthcare Administration Database - indexing over 1,000 healthcare management publications
- Medline (and a Nursing and Allied Health Database)
- Psychology Database - indexing over 1,000 psychology publications
- Public Health Database - indexing over 1,000 public health publications
The databases can be searched individually or collectively and much of the content is available in full-text.
This guide was created by the Information Skills Team.
We value your feedback on our Guide.
Please contact us with any comments and suggestions.
National Health Library & Knowledge Service. Health Service Executive. Dr. Steevens' Hospital, Dublin 8. Tel: 01-6352555/8. Email: email@example.com