Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
hse hli logo

Open Access Research Publishing: Open Access Research Awards 2015

This is a guide to open access pubilshing in the heatlh services.

Open Access Research Awards 2015 - Picture Gallery

Aoife Egan

Open Access Research Awards Audience

Open Access Research Awards Audience

Mary Reidy

Open Access Research Awards Audience

Pauline O'Shea

Terry Hanan

Tom O'Brien

List of Winners

List of HSE Open Access Research Award winners 2015:


Health and Wellbeing category:

Lisa Owens and colleagues, for their paper “Comparing type 1 and type 2 diabetes in pregnancy- similar conditions or is a separate approach required?” Atlantic Diabetes in Pregnancy Programme, Galway.


Quality Improvement category:

Aoife Egan and colleagues, for their paper “Diabetic Retinopathy in Pregnancy: A population-based study of women with pre gestational diabetes” Galway University Hospital


Social Care category:

Rónán O’Caoimh and colleagues, for their paper, “The Risk Instrument for Screening in the Community (RISC): A New Instrument for Predicting Risk of Adverse Outcomes in Community Dwelling Older Adults” Centre for Gerontology and Rehabilitation, University College Cork & St.

Finbarr’s Hospital, Douglas Rd, Cork City.


Acute Hospitals category:

Mary Reidy and colleagues, for their paper, “Preparedness of Hospitals in the Republic of Ireland for an Influenza Pandemic, an Infection Control Perspective”. Bon Secours Hospital, Tralee, County Kerry


National Cancer Control Programme category:

Terry Hanan and colleagues, for their paper, “Delivering care to oncology patients in the community: an innovative integrated approach” National Cancer Control Programme.


Clinical Strategy and Programmes category:

Fidelma Dunne and colleagues, for their paper, “ATLANTIC DIP: simplifying the follow-up of women with previous gestational diabetes” Galway Diabetes Research Centre, National University of Ireland, Galway, and University Hospital Galway


Primary Care category:

Mary Cahill and colleagues, for their paper, “Haematinic Deficiency and Macrocytosis in Middle-Aged and Older Adults”. Department of Haematology, Cork University Hospital


Mental Health category:

Tom O’Brien and colleagues for their reportEvaluating the Implementation of the RCI in Irish Mental Health Services” EVE’s support & development department. Brú Chaomhín, Dublin.


Overall winner:

Edel Quinn and colleagues, for their paper, “Clinical unity and community empowerment: the use of smartphone technology to empower community management of chronic venous ulcers through the support of a tertiary unit”, Department of Surgery, Cork University Hospital.

National Health Library & Knowledge Service. Health Service Executive. Dr. Steevens' Hospital, Dublin 8. Tel: 01-6352555/8. Email: