It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The links at the top of the page lead to more information on some popular Reference Managers and more information about referencing and citation.
NOTE: Refworks is not subscribed to as of January 2022
Introduction to Reference Managers
Reference Management Systems, Reference management software, citation management software or Bibliographic management software helps the student or researcher manage bibliographic citations (references), the addition of notes while allowing the sharing of references to a group, and collaborative working. References and citations recorded can be reused as required to generate inline citations and bibliographies for assignments and publication.
The system/software normally allows the user to save citation details to a ‘library’ and folders.
There is frequently a browser extension or plugin and a desktop application to be set up. Most integrate into word processing software to help manage the formatting of inline citations and generation of bibliographies.
Normally, the user can import references and citations from other systems and sites, including other reference management software if it is in one of the standard formats such as:
MODS (Metadata Object Description Schema)
Unqualified Dublin Core RDF
Web of Science Tagged
Other functions may include:
Searching the online subscriptions of a library for full text
Searching Google Scholar for full text
Searching library catalogues for print books and print journals
Selecting and setting your citation style
Generating bibliographies without having to launch a word processing package.
Reference Management System Selection Checklist
When selecting a reference manager, consider whether you want to do the following
Access the website, install a browser extension, install the desktop version on the PC you want to use it on.
Your personal pc may have fewer restrictions than a work PC, or those connecting from within the HSE network
Work online via online library and browser extension
Work Offline, and download/sync from your online library of saved references
Operating System Compatibility
Word processing package compatibility
Collaborate with others on bibliographies
Collaborate with others to share libraries
Import/Export file formats supported
Preloaded reference styles
Editable/customisable reference styles
Edit data fields
Where to get access
Mobile device friendly
Search for full text content from within the reference manager